top of page

Cadena Embroidery Kicks Off

"Where do you want the flower?" "What stitch?" "Just that little accent of embroidery?"

Today was a big first day, and that, as usual, comes with some confusion. Today I took some of my clothes to Ciudad de Dios, so that the women can begin upcycling clothes. I started by showing pictures of upcycled clothes, be it just hems that are embroidered to add a little flare, or large flowers that are embriodered to add some style to a plain pair of jeans. Thankfully my friend Jordi could come with me to help assist with color suggestions after I explained to each women how they would embroider the article of clothing they were given. I told the women to track the amount of time it took them to complete their design so that we can have an accurate start to pricing the clothes and their work.

Lots of laughter was heard between statements like "No lo malogras, es la ropa de Emma!" They know that they were each given clothes that I actually wear, and they were VERY nervous to mess up the embroidery. Some women wouldn't take any clothes, since this is such a different application of their embroidery, they wanted to wait and see how the other women did.

I have no idea what will come of my clothes, not that I care, because I am excited at the potential of this project to upcycle clothes while providing work for some of my best friends, the Cadena Cooperative!

bottom of page